# Connecticut Department of Public Health

Jill M. Kennedy, Health Program Associate Legislative Liaison Chris Andresen, Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section Chief July 20, 2022



Connecticut Department of Public Health Keeping Connecticut Healthy





# Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section (PLIS)

\*Licenses approximately 65 professions including:

physicians, nurses, dentists, social workers, hairdressers, psychologists, behavior analysts, art therapists, occupational therapists, embalmers/funeral directors, veterinarians, etc.

\*Approximately 250,000 individuals licensed or certified

\*1,200 - 1,500 complaints for investigation annually



# Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section (PLIS)

#### \*elicense.ct.gov

- \*Online application process
- \*Applicants can check status of application through their account
- \* Public can verify licensure status
- \* Licensees are responsible for ensuring all required documentation is sent to Department
- \*License is generally issued 10-15 days once the Department receives a completed application with all relevant documents



# Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section (PLIS)

License Categories	Number of Licensees (07/18/2022)
LMSW	4,415
LCSW	8,557
LPCA	968
LPC	3,833
MFTA	477
MFT	1,744
Psychology	2,417
Total	22,411



## Public Act 22-47 An Act Concerning Children's Mental Health

- \* Section 1: DPH will consult with DCF to develop and implement a plan to waive licensure requirements for mental health providers licensed in other states with a priority given to children's providers (report due 1/1/23)
- \* Section 2: Expands an existing law on expedited licensure for health care providers licensed in other states by eliminating current provisions limiting it to state residents or spouses of active-duty military members stationed in CT. (effective 10/1/22)
- \* Section 3: Extends, until June 30, 2024, the duration of temporary master social worker permits from 120 days to one year after attaining a master's degree and specifies that they are not void solely because the applicant fails the examination



## Public Act 22-47 An Act Concerning Children's Mental Health

Section 5: Allows out-of-state social workers, under certain conditions, to provide telehealth services to residents of other states while the residents are in Connecticut, until July 1, 2024

Section 6: Requires DPH, within available appropriations, to establish a need-based program that waives application and licensure fees for certain applicants who will provide children's mental or behavioral health services



### Public Act 22-81 - An Act Expanding Preschool & Mental & Behavioral Services for children

- Section 17: Requires DPH, in consultation with the DSS, to establish a pilot program to expand behavioral health care to children by pediatric care providers in private practices (by 7/1/23)
- Section 26: Requires DPH, in consultation with OEC, to develop and implement a plan to establish licensure by reciprocity or endorsement for speech and language pathologists or occupational therapists licensed elsewhere and who intend to provide services under the Birth-to-Three program (by 1/1/23)
- Section 30, 32, 33: Extends PA 21-9's temporary expanded telehealth requirements for the delivery of telehealth services by one year to June 30, 2024, and makes minor changes



#### Public Act 22-81 - An Act Expanding Preschool & Mental & Behavioral Services for children

- Section 42: Enters Connecticut into the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact, which provides a process authorizing psychologists to practice by (1) telehealth and (2) temporary inperson, face-to-face services across state boundaries, without requiring psychologist licensure in each state (10/1/22)
- Section 43: Enters Connecticut into the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which provides an expedited licensure process for physicians seeking to practice in multiple states (10/1/22)



### **Connecticut Department of Public Health**

Questions?

Chris.andresen@ct.gov

Jill.kennedy@ct.gov

Thank you